Almost

Nathanael is almost – almost done with Montessori, almost able to sort of swim, almost a kid (but still wanting him to be my “big boy”), almost so much.

We have a silent Ghandi on our hands. When I seem to have entirely pissed him off (for things like asking him to get dressed or eat breakfast in the morning), he goes into this sulk mode where all he will do is sit in the living room and not move or look at me. I try to ignore it but if I ignore it too long, a toy will start to get kicked across the room or I will hear a little “hrumph.” This will continue to escalate, albeit very slowly but methodically. Then I am torn between standing my ground and actually making it to work on time. At a certain point, I can put him on my lap and give him a hug. It’s interesting because I can tell he is of two minds – he loves the comfort but recognizes that I am the one who has pissed him off. I try to talk it out but it can be a lot of drama before breakfast.

N is usually a pretty even tempered kid but lately I am seeing more angst – it must be a developmental stage because he seems more tired and hungry. And a little bit bitchy. He even ate, and asked for, a plate of scrambled eggs yesterday. He hasn’t done that for years. I think it’s another sign of this “almost” stage.

I am glad we waited a year for K though I fear he’s in for a dull year (he is SO excited for K and I can only hope it isn’t too disappointing). Academically, he’s ahead but I can tell that new situations continue to unnerve him to his bones. I think this year is giving him the tools to start to learn how to manage new situations – though it just about kills me to see him so, we’ll, so freaked. I totally get it but I think we need to be more proactive in coping strategies.

2 Responses to “Almost”


  1. 1 mandar dinero online March 28, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    Hey! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m definitely enjoying your blog
    and look forward to new updates.

  2. 2 homepage July 9, 2013 at 8:20 am

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I
    provide credit and sources back to your blog? My blog is
    in the exact same niche as yours and my users would certainly benefit from some of the information you present here.

    Please let me know if this okay with you. Regards!


Leave a Reply

Little E



This is an outfit we sent him!

Process

Application to agency: 2/7/07 Dossier to agency: 7/30/07
i171h: 9/6/07
Referral: 9/13/07
POA to Guatemala: 9/28/07
DNA auth: 11/29/07
Enter family court: 12/18/07
DNA test: 1/16/08
Birth mother interview: 1/16/08
DNA test results to embassy: 1/23/08
Registered with the CNA: 2/11 (grandfathered in)
Exit family court: 2/11/08
Pre-approval: 3/6/08
Enter PGN: 3/12/08
Exit PGN: 4/16/08
Adoption decree signed: 4/17/08
New birth certificate: 4/22/08
New passport: 4/25/08
Orange: 5/5/08
2nd DNA Test: 5/8/08
Pink: TBD
Embassy appt:

