Home and Humbled

We landed around 10pm last night and started our journey at 9am so it was pretty darn exhausting.  Nathanael was a trooper and that helped a lot.  We spent a few days in Antigua – the weather was bad but it was nice to just hang out and be together without distractions.  I am so thankful that my dad was able to join us for this time.

Today has been hard.  Nathanael is in shut down mode – there has been a lot of change in his life.  Joe is sick, like every time he stands he gets dizzy so he can’t stand.  As he was carring in the luggage last night he fell over and has a big egg on his head.  I didn’t realize how sick he was.  He’s been sleeping most of the day and I just want him to be better.  I am so hoping it’s a virus that he can sleep off.  Our little threesome isn’t the same when Joe is so sick and he’s SUCH an amazing father.  Nathanael lights up around him.

So, today has been hard and I feel humbled.  This experience has been intense emotionally and physically.  Every day I think of Nathanael’s foster family and how loved he was and how much we have to live up to.  He hasn’t been a happy baby today but hopefully with time, he’ll get there.

To not be a complete downer, there were good parts of the day.  Zach met Nathanael and that went well – except that Zach grabs food off of Nathanael’s high chair.  But, that could have been bad and they both seem pretty fine with it all.  I am also thankful that my parents are so close.  I know that I can call and they will help.  One day this week I’ll get us unpacked and organized, but right now – we are just focusing on the needs at hand.

1 Response to “Home and Humbled”


  1. 1 Kjersti June 9, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    I hope Joe is feeling better soon. I’m sure you are all just exhausted. I can barely get myself home from a trip – not sure how I would do it with a baby. I guess they don’t have baby valium, huh?

    Nathanael looks adorable in the little exersaucer thingy.

    take good care!

    kjersti


Leave a Reply

Little E



This is an outfit we sent him!

Process

Application to agency: 2/7/07 Dossier to agency: 7/30/07
i171h: 9/6/07
Referral: 9/13/07
POA to Guatemala: 9/28/07
DNA auth: 11/29/07
Enter family court: 12/18/07
DNA test: 1/16/08
Birth mother interview: 1/16/08
DNA test results to embassy: 1/23/08
Registered with the CNA: 2/11 (grandfathered in)
Exit family court: 2/11/08
Pre-approval: 3/6/08
Enter PGN: 3/12/08
Exit PGN: 4/16/08
Adoption decree signed: 4/17/08
New birth certificate: 4/22/08
New passport: 4/25/08
Orange: 5/5/08
2nd DNA Test: 5/8/08
Pink: TBD
Embassy appt:

