Elmer

The birth mother named him Elmer Nathanael. Until things settle down and (if) we get out of PGN (actually if we ever get in PGN but that’s another matter), we aren’t going to change anything.  It’s like not having a baby shower until you have the baby. 

I imagine we will change Little E’s name.  When we received the referral and were told the name, we both immediately started laughing.  I mean, Elmer!  Personally, I loved the name from that moment on.  I also am not really sure if I feel comfortable changing his name.  I asked our agency and they don’t think that lawyer’s office named him, they think it was the birth mother.   I feel like there are so few ways to honor her, that changing the name might be dishonoring her.  I also am weird about stuff like that.  My first dog that I got from the humane society, whose name was Hobo, well, I never changed it.  He was like 6 and it just felt wrong to impose a new name on him.  Our current dog, Zach, we changed the name.  The people who had him before us (for like 2 days) named him Drake.  It was pretty clear that they had no idea what they signed up for and this dog is no Drake.   I don’t know what his pre-Drake name was so I never felt weird about changing his name.

I asked my nephew what he thought of the name Elmer and he looked at me like he ate something sour.  So, we think we’ll need to change his name because we don’t want him to be mocked or all the other awful things kids do. 

The thing is, he’s totally an Elmer.  It just fits him.  He’s sweet and fun and just a 15 lb soul full of life.  So, we’ll see.

0 Responses to “Elmer”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Little E



This is an outfit we sent him!

Process

Application to agency: 2/7/07 Dossier to agency: 7/30/07
i171h: 9/6/07
Referral: 9/13/07
POA to Guatemala: 9/28/07
DNA auth: 11/29/07
Enter family court: 12/18/07
DNA test: 1/16/08
Birth mother interview: 1/16/08
DNA test results to embassy: 1/23/08
Registered with the CNA: 2/11 (grandfathered in)
Exit family court: 2/11/08
Pre-approval: 3/6/08
Enter PGN: 3/12/08
Exit PGN: 4/16/08
Adoption decree signed: 4/17/08
New birth certificate: 4/22/08
New passport: 4/25/08
Orange: 5/5/08
2nd DNA Test: 5/8/08
Pink: TBD
Embassy appt:

